2010 Scholarship Recipients

Juan Arguto

–– High School

Sarah Benjamin

Westhill High School

Sarah’s rare blend of energy, enthusiasm and spirituality, coupled with her extraordinary organizational skills have combined to create a virtual community service dynamo. In her four years of association with the Friendship Circle, a Stamford-based organization that affords teens the opportunity to befriend and assist special needs children, she has risen to the position of president of the group’s contingent at Westhill High School.

In addition to her primary responsibility of befriending and working one-on-one with her special friend, Sarah recruits volunteers, assists adult professionals in planning and devising programs, and attends all programs and board meetings. Last year she was selected to attend the International Leadership Conference for Friendship Circle volunteers.

Jasmine Forbes

–– High School

Marissa Friedman

–– High School

Jaime Manela

–– High School

Jyotsna JoJo Winsor

Stamford High School

Jyotsna, or JoJo, decided early on what her mission in life would be. Very simple: to make tomorrow better than today or yesterday. With this passion in place, she has compiled an almost unbelievable record of community service in Stamford.

One of her many personal triumphs was her founding of Stamford Robotics to not only spread awareness in our community for the need for individuals properly trained in science and technology, but also to actually organize teams, train mentors, create lesson plans and hold weekly meetings – all designed to encourage elementary school students to see the value of a technical education when they reached high school.

JoJo also has put in many volunteer hours in such diverse activities as playing music at nursing homes and assisted living facilities, tutoring at the Boys and Girls Club and running an exposition at the Stamford Museum & Nature Center.

The Selection Committee believes that JoJo is a fine example of a well-rounded student who epitomizes the standards it seeks and has proudly selected her as one of its Scholarship Recipients.